Is it Marriage Open Season?

Standard

Um.  Did I miss some major announcement/memo/newsflash about an open season on marriage this week?

Tonight marks the third married man who has acted in an inappropriate manner towards me THIS WEEK!  Enough is enough for Krisakes.

The other two were much more subtle: one a little too flirty via email, another too often and too closely in my space at a social event (at one point this guy’s wife stepped in between us much to my relief).  But tonight!  Ugh!

I was sitting in a circle of people chatting together at a party.  Mr. Married Man joins the circle and sits next to me.  After a while he is just talking to me.  I noticed he lacked a wedding ring and any girlfriend type was absent from his side.  So I chatted with him for a while then left the circle.  He followed and wanted to talk some more and after a while he said, “I like you and I am really enjoying talking to you.”  Which was nice at the time because I thought he was single.  He sought me out a few times during the evening and when he was leaving he wanted to give me his card.

As he reached out his hand with the card he said, “Would it be OK if we had a discreet relationship?”

Suspicious, I said, “Why?  Are you married?”

He began to hem and haw.

I said, ” You ARE married, aren’t you?”

and

he said, “Well….Yes.”

“No,” I said and turned to see a woman who I suppose was his wife, walking towards us.

An hour and a half of flirting with his wife only  a few feet away!  The NERVE!  I swear I was not coming on to this guy.

What kind of game is this?  Do these men just want to see how far they can go with this?  What is the deal?  Am I just supposed to be OK with this because it is so common?

Comments?

2 responses »

  1. I’m not sure exactly why but this weblog is loading very slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a problem on my end? I’ll check back later on and see if the
    problem still exists.

  2. Hi there! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to give it a look.
    I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m
    bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!

    Exceptional blog and brilliant style and design.

Leave a Reply

